Another Step Towards Being An Adult

Only a few days left and I’m going back to school. The end of freedom where there is no school (not that I hate) homeworks, projects and especially quizzes are finally coming back to haunt my dreams and my daily life. Not only was this the case of me being sad, but also realizing that I am getting older. I’m a senior now in high school (Grade 11 to be precise) and just think, two months later from now I’m going to be seventeen years old. One step closer from becoming an adult, another step closer from finishing high school and another step closer from entering college life. This would not only indicate that I’m no longer an adolescent anymore, but as an adult who has the power to lead his or her own life from now on.

It scares me from the thought that more work are coming onto my two shoulders that would intensify my responsibilities on a day to day basis because of this. One of which that I would never forget by the time I finished college is finding a job. But what really scares me about finding one is not about the thought of it, but rather not getting the job you always wanted. Being underemployed in simplest of terms. This would leave a scar in our subconsciousness that would constantly remind us every time we wake up that we haven’t reached our preconceived notion of how our future would be. This is one of the possible tragedies that could happen to us by the time we finished college or haven’t really thought of through enough on what we’re going to do with our lives.

“But you still have another year before you finished high school, and another three to four years before you finished college. By the time you finished these two things, that’s the time you’re really going to feel like an adult”

You might say this based from my thoughts from the first two paragraphs. I know that, but time flies fast. My personal responses towards this subject means that one step closer to finishing a certain part of the educational system means one step closer to maturity. One step closer to maturity means one step closer to changing your usual ways. Change is what this really means. Adulthood is about change and it frightens me.

As I have mentioned before, more responsibilities are there to be part on our daily lives by the time we live life as an adult, and I must face the fact that it is inevitable. I just couldn’t believe right before my eyes on how time is so fast. How it really shows that we must enjoy being young while it last because before you know it, those days are finally gone.

 

Leave a Reply

